Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /nfs/c12/h06/mnt/215335/domains/liveanddieinmusic.com/html/wp-includes/pomo/plural-forms.php on line 210

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /nfs/c12/h06/mnt/215335/domains/liveanddieinmusic.com/html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/_inc/lib/class.media-summary.php on line 77

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /nfs/c12/h06/mnt/215335/domains/liveanddieinmusic.com/html/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/_inc/lib/class.media-summary.php on line 87

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /nfs/c12/h06/mnt/215335/domains/liveanddieinmusic.com/html/wp-content/themes/Divi/includes/builder/functions.php on line 4993
Paul Weller | More Modern Classics | New Album - Live And Die In Music

M O R E  M O D E R N C L A S S I C S

Released June 2nd 2014 on Virgin Records

Plus two special & intimate Paul Weller London shows in May

PW cover


“This is just another few chapters of my life’s work, a journey which

I would hope you would come with me on…..The music on this compilation is over 15 years but for me it feels like it could be 5 or 6 years. I’m rushing through like, I can’t slow it down. I’ll cling on tight and see where it ends up”

Paul Weller Feb 2014

More Modern Classics is a fitting title: a high quality stylish collection featuring tracks taken from Paul’s albums of the last 15 years of his solo career. These 15 years have seen a constant artistic high, with each subsequent album release being heralded as ‘his best yet’. There are few artists with as many incarnations as Paul who can claim to have achieved such an ongoing renaissance, keeping each of their album releases sounding fresh and showered with plaudits. From “Helliocentric” to “Sonik Kicks” Paul proved that his fire hasn’t gone out. When Paul released “22 Dreams” in 2008, it marked one of the most remarkable creative re-births of recent years. 22 Dreams was a dazzling kaleidoscope of unexpected shifts, sonic experimentation and head-spinning inventiveness all marked by a wide-eyed sense of newfound artistic freedom, it bowled over both fans and those who had long since written off Weller as merely a dependable traditionalist.

The creative fire sparked by this new way of creating music quickly spread onto his next two albums. Both 2010’s spiky and restlessly experimental (and Mercury Prize nominated) Wake Up The Nation and 2012’s Sonik Kicks, in which Weller crams about as many ideas and sounds into futuristic three and a bit minute pop songs as humanly possible, are rightly regarded alongside 22 Dreams as among the very best records he’s ever produced. Not bad for an artist approaching 40 years in the music business.

Some of Paul’s best singles are here such as live favourite “From The Floorboards Up” to the never-off-the-radio “That Dangerous Age”.  A brand new track – released for 2014’s Record Store Day – “Brand New Toy” is also included. A video for “Brand New Toy” has been made by director Joe Connor and features Paul actually inside a giant kaleidoscope to create the brilliant psychedelic effects.

‘More Modern Classics’ is the long awaited follow up to 1998’s “Modern Classics” which showcased the first part of Paul Weller’s highly successful solo career. This album confirms Weller’s status as the most resilient survivor from punk’s class of 76 and outclassing and outperforming many of his earlier and later years’ contemporaries. It showcases his continuing progression as an artist, never afraid to take chances, move forward and buck trends – always staying fresh and transcending the zeitgeist. More Modern Classics continues to serve as a reminder of his wide range and gift for melody and song writing.


Paul Weller is excited to announce that he will be playing two very unique & intimate live shows in mid May. Get up close and personal with the Modfather when he performs with his full band at two venues in London.

Tickets will go very fast but fans will be able to gain access to an exclusive pre-sale when they pre-order More Modern Classics at the official Paul Weller Store http://po.st/PWs.  The pre-sale will give fans a special early chance to buy tickets on a first come first served basis.  (***Tickets will be limited to two per person. Once a pre-order is made at the PaulWeller.com official store, fans will receive information on how to enter the pre-sale).


Formatting and track listings of “More Modern Classics” go like this – all feature sleeve notes written by Paul himself:


  1. Standard CD (Track listing as per Disc 1 below)
  2. Heavyweight Vinyl LP – (Track listing as per Disc 1 below)
  3. Deluxe CD –  a 36 page hard back book featuring 3 CDs.

o    Disc 1 More Modern Classics featuring new single Brand New Toy plus the ultimate collection of Weller classic spanning 1999 – 2014,

o    Disc 2 is an additional bonus disc containing a further selection of tracks from 1999 – 2014

o    Disc 3 – previously unreleased Paul Weller sessions including Abbey Road, The Sun, Absolute, BBC, Xfm, Capital Gold and more ***disc 3 track list may be subject to change


  1. Standard digital  (track listing per Volume 1 below)
  2. Deluxe Edition Digital – contains:
  3. Vol 1 More Modern Classics featuring new single Brand New Toy plus the ultimate collection of Weller classic spanning 1999 – 2014,
  4. Vol 2 is a further selection of tracks from 1999 – 2014

Disc 1 /Vol 1 are:

He’s The Keeper / Sweet Pea My Sweet Pea / It’s Written In The Stars / Wishing On A Star / From The Floorboards Up / Come On Let’s Go / Wild Blue Yonder / Have you Made Up Your Mind / Echoes Round The Sun / All I Wanna Do (Is Be With You) / Push It Along / 22 Dreams / No Tears To Cry / Wake Up The Nation / Fast Car/Slow Traffic / Starlite / That Dangerous Age / When Your Garden’s Overgrown / The Attic / Flame-Out! / Brand New Toy

Disc 2 /Vol 2

A Bullet For Everyone / Who Brings Joy / Dust & Rocks / With Wine And Temperance / Frightened / Don’t Make Promises / One Way Road / Birds / Empty Ring / One Bright Star / Why Walk When You Can Run / Night Lites / The Pebble And The Boy / Roll Along Summer / Trees / Up The Dosage / 7&3 Is The Striker’s Name / Be Happy Children / Green / Paper Chase / The Olde Original

Disc 3 (***disc 3 track list may be subject to change)

All I Wanna Do (THE SUN SESSION) / From The Floorboards Up (XFM SESSION) / The Attic (LAUREN LAVERNE 6 MUSIC SESSION) / Around The Lake (LAUREN LAVERNE 6 MUSIC SESSION) / Andromeda (ABSOLUTE ABBEY ROAD SESSION) / That Dangerous Age (LAUREN LAVERNE 6 MUSIC SESSION) / When Your Garden’s Overgrown (LAUREN LAVERNE 6 MUSIC SESSION) / Wake Up The Nation (LAUREN LAVERNE 6 MUSIC SESSION) / Savages (CAPITAL GOLD SESSION) / Time Of The Season (RADIO 2 SESSION) / Aim High (BLACK BARN SESSION) / Daydream – Loving Spoonful cover (XFM SESSION)