Happyness are a three-piece from South London consisting of Jonny Allan, Benji Compston and Ashley Cooper. Having self-produced their debut EP in Jelly Boy Studios, their loft, the band will be announcing their self-titled EP set for release early January 2014. In the lead up to this lo-fi 4-track offering, mixed by Ed Harcourt and mastered by Adam Lasus (Yo La Tengo, Daniel Johnston, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah), Happyness have gathered friends and fans on both sides of the Atlantic. Influences are diverse and broad but bands such as Sparklehorse, Yo La Tengo and Wilco have clearly inspired. Dreamy, hook laden, with a song writing prowess far beyond their tender years – Happyness are the real deal.
The press for debut single “It’s On You” has been unequivocally positive, the track propelling Happyness into one of the most talked-about new guitar bands in the country.