Life Size Maps is a 4-piece indie / synth / githch-pop band comprised of Mike McKeever (vox, electronics, guitar), Rob Karpay (synth), Sean Thornton (drums), and Dave Stoecker (bass) who got their start in the summer of 2011 playing in around Brooklyn’s vibrant and eclectic DIY scene.

First discovered by the illustrious local promoter, Todd P, Life Size Maps cut their teeth playing out at many of Brooklyn’s most influential DIY spaces, from Monster Island Basement to Death by Audio and 285 Kent. It wasn’t long before they began to mature and gain respect in the scene, soon after opening for acts such as Mac Demarco, DIIV, Magic Man, and Oberhofer.

Life Size Maps Tracklisting
01. Weird Luck
02. All Been Spent
03. RPG
04. Abstract Speed
05. Strange Obsession
06. Woozy
07. Darkling
08. Aerosol
09. Interlude
10. This Same House
11. Parasol Life
12. Past The Veil

* LP Stream linked here
* LP Download linked here

On April 7th, 2015, Life Size Maps released their first self-titled LP via Old Flame Records. The album was mixed by Chris Coady (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Beach House, Future Islands), mastered by Greg Calbi (The Horrors, Passion Pit, St. Vincent) and features artwork by LIL INTERNET.
“Life Size Maps have not only survived the seismic shifts, but managed to create a clearer vision in the face of things getting bigger and more complicated.” – Recommended Listen

Many of the songs on the album deal with personal tragedies experienced through the channels of text message bubbles and Facebook chat boxes. The melding of the IRL and URL warped these experiences, but also provided relief in the form of digital escapism. The album is built around these themes and the idea that virtual realities don’t have to be isolating, but can be a means toward reclaiming one’s sense of connection.