Brody Dalle has released the first track from her forthcoming solo album (Diploid Love will be released on April 28). The news that Brody Dalle was working on new music caused a flurry of excitement last year and even more so when she revealed she had signed to Caroline and was planning to release an album in 2014. Just before the holidays, Brody put a London date on sale and in less than hour it was completely sold out. So now with the news that she’ll be touring and releasing an album in the next few months, comes a taster of what fans can expect from the punk icon’s first ever solo release.

The first offering is titled, Meet The Foetus/ Oh The Joy and it’s the ambitious, centrepiece of the forthcoming album. It’s a song about creating life and was responsible for kicking the whole album process off again for Brody. And if you listen carefully you can hear, good friend Shirley Manson (Garbage) and Emily Kokal (Warpaint) lending a hand on backing vocals.

Brody Dalle spent a year writing, playing, recording and co-producing her first solo album, a riotous blast of punk rock with a pop sheen that storms through ideas about the modern age, triumphing against the odds and even spirituality. She co-produced everything with Alain Johannes (Arctic Monkeys, Them Crooked Vultures, Mark Lanegan) at his studio, and at her and husband Josh Homme’s studio Pink Duck, both in California. “I’ve always had a hand in crafting how it’s going to sound and hearing it and trying to make that happen. But it’s the first time I’ve put my name on something for production”, she says of the release. Amazingly, she wrote all the songs and played almost all the instruments you can hear on the album – save for a few incredible guests.

Brody has had a long, wild career in music. “It’s the only job I’ve ever had and I love it.” In her native Australia, her first band, Sourpuss, got her signed at 15; she later moved to LA and formed The Distillers, becoming pack leader of a band of hardcore reprobates, and spending her 20s touring the world. After that, she released a killer album rife with hooks under Spinnerette and now she returns in fighting form under her own name with her own solo project.

Stay tuned for more details very soon…


24 February London, UK Hoxton Bar & Kitchen

27 February Berlin, Germany Magnet

21 April Glasgow Garage

22 April Manchester Academy 2

24 April London Electric Ballroom

25 April Sheffield Leadmill

26 April Birmingham O2 Academy 2

12 August Budapest, Hungary Sziget

17 August Biddinghuizen, Holland Lowlands Festival

She will also be touring in Australia in March supporting Queens of the Stone Age and Nine Inch Nails.